Platte County Landmark  
The Platte County Landmark

Covering Platte County, Missouri Weekly Since 1865

Local News

Between the Lines
by Ivan Foley

Off the Couch
by Greg Hall

Off the Wall
by CK Rairden



Community Calendar



Weekly publication dates are Thursdays

***Sign up for ***
The Landmark's E*Newsletter


Featured Advertisers

Darby's name also off ballot,
at least for now

by Ivan Foley
Landmark editor

A second candidate for Platte County office has been removed from the August primary election ballot.

Shortly after it was reported in The Landmark that Donn Swaggerty's name had been taken off the GOP ballot for presiding commissioner, the Platte County Board of Elections announced that the name of Linda S. Darby, candidate for circuit court clerk, has been removed.

Both Swaggerty and Darby failed to file a personal financial disclosure report with the office of Platte County Clerk Sandra Krohne. Such disclosure report is required by Platte County Commission Order No. 43-01.

Darby was the only Republican candidate for the office of circuit court clerk. Missouri law states that if there are no candidate for nomination as the party candidate due to disqualification of all party candidates after 5 p.m. on the last day on which a person may file as a candidate for nomination, and at or before 5 p.m on the sixth Tuesday prior to the primary election, the Plate County Republican Central Committee will have the right to meet and nominate a candidate for placement on the Aug. 6 primary ballot. They have 28 days in which to do so.

Wendy Flanigan, a director with the board of elections, reports that the chairman of the Republican Central Committee has been notified and will be convening the committee to nominate a candidate for clerk of the circuit court. Flanigan said it is legally permissible for the committee to again nominate Darby as its candidate.

Swaggerty was not the only Republican candidate for presiding commissioner, and Missouri election law does not allow for a replacement nomination in that case. Incumbent Presiding Commissioner Betty Knight's name will be the only one from her party on the primary ballot for that position.