Covering Platte County, Missouri Weekly Since 1865
Legal Notices
County Foreclosures
Local News
Between the Lines
by Ivan Foley
The Rambling Moron
by Chris Kamler
The Right Stuff
by James Thomas
Straight from Stigall
by Chris Stigall
Parallax Look
by Brian Kubicki
KC Confidential
by Hearne Christopher
Off the Couch
by Greg Hall
Pleasantly Eccentric
by Aimee Patton
Pig Skin Picks
Letters to the Editor
"Send Your Letter"
Weekly publication dates are Wednesdays
52 Main Street0
P.O. Box 410
Platte City, Missouri 64079

Fax :816-858-2313
by email
Click Here!
by phone


Chip Sherman chosen for Missouri Hall of Fame

by Ivan Foley
Landmark publisher

Chip Sherman, whose Platte County Pirate football teams won three consecutive state championships, will be inducted this year into the Missouri Sports Hall of Fame.

The announcement of Sherman’s pending induction was made Wednesday by officials with the Missouri State Hall of Fame.

Sherman coached 20 seasons at Platte County High School, compiling a 191-37 record during that time. His consecutive Class 3 state championships came in 2000, 2001 and 2002.

He took 12 teams to the playoffs, with his 1999 and 2005 teams reaching the state semifinals. From 1999 to 2003, his teams won 64 of 66 games, including 52 consecutive – the second-longest streak in state history. None of his Platte County teams ever had a losing season.

Sherman, who has been inducted into the Greater Kansas City Football Coaches Association Hall of Fame, is now coaching at Olathe Northwest (Kan.) High School.

The Missouri Sports Hall of Fame will soon host an Enshrinement in Independence presented by Great Southern Bank, with the Hall of Fame to honor 16 individuals, a high school wrestling program and two national championship football teams.

President and Executive Director Jerald Andrews on Wednesday announced the Enshrinement in Kansas City class, which will be honored in a ceremony on Sunday, Nov. 12 at the Stoney Creek Hotel and Conference Center, 18011 Bass Pro Drive in Independence. Festivities will begin with a noon reception and 1 p.m. dinner, followed by the program. Tickets can be purchased by calling 417-889-3100.

In addition to Sherman, the Enshrinement in Independence induction class features: Kansas City Chiefs nose tackle Bill Maas, Kansas City Royals third baseman Kevin Seitzer, St. Joseph Benton and University of Missouri tight end Martin Rucker, former big-leaguer Bob Dernier, sports medicine expert Dr. Jon Browne, former Missouri Valley College and 1960s Boston Patriots star Ron Hall, longtime high school volleyball coach Lori Hanaway, longtime television sports director Frank Boal, Raytown High School swim coach Jim Aziere, former Mizzou Tigers quarterback Phillip Snowden, Mizzou supporter Don Walsworth, former Paseo Academy basketball coach Willie Bowie, William Jewell track and field coach Darrel Gourley, retired Smithville High School girls basketball coach Diana Tingler, the Oak Grove High School Wrestling Program and wrestling coach Bob Glasgow as well as Northwest Missouri State University's 1998 and 1999 national championship football teams. Kansas City businessman James Roberts will receive the President's Award, given to an individual who supports sports in the state and especially the Missouri Sports Hall of Fame.