Platte County Landmark  
The Platte County Landmark

Covering Platte County, Missouri Weekly Since 1865

Local News

Between the Lines
by Ivan Foley

Off the Couch
by Greg Hall

Off the Wall
by CK Rairden



Community Calendar



Weekly publication dates are Thursdays

***Sign up for ***
The Landmark's E*Newsletter


Featured Advertisers

There will be three races in Platte City's election

by Ivan Foley and Cindy Rinehart
Landmark editor

Surprise. In a somewhat unusual occurrence, there will be several contested races at Platte City's spring election this year.

The filing deadline for school and city candidates was Tuesday at 5 p.m. The final lineup shows three races at the City of Platte City: mayor, Ward 2 alderman and Ward 3 alderman.

Incumbent Frank Offutt and current alderman Dave Brooks will square off in the mayor's race.

Incumbent Ward 2 alderman George McClintock will be challenged by Ron Porter, and incumbent Ward 3 alderman John Kurtz will go up against Gary W. Brown.

Bill Knighton will be unopposed for Ward 1 alderman, and municipal judge Greg Dorsey will run unopposed once again.

Other cities reported their final lists of candidates as follows:

DEARBORN: Steve Sellars and Marvin Landes will go head-to-head for the mayor's position. Incumbent Mayor Kent Hott did not file for re-election.

Ward 1 incumbent alderman Donald Swanstone, Jr. will be unopposed. In Ward 2, incumbent Frank Downing, Jr. will be challenged by Delba Denny. Nobody filed for a Ward 1 unexpired term.

CAMDEN POINT: No races here. Incumbent Mayor Gloria Boyer will be unopposed, as will incumbent aldermen Steve Martin and Jane Johnson.

EDGERTON: Incumbent Mayor Donna Hay will be opposed by Shawn Harmer. Incumbent East Ward Alderman Regina Humphrey will face opposition from Lloyd Bressman. West Ward Alderman John Taylor will be unopposed.

WESTON: Incumbent Ward 1 alderman Joyce Priddy will be challenged by Rod Ables. Incumbent John Collier is unopposed in Ward 2.

PLATTE COUNTY R-3: The three incumbents—Carey Rolofson, Scott Henson and Dave Holland—have all signed up to run for a trio of three-year spots open.

In addition, R-3 has a one-year term open on the board, which will be vacated by Tammy Glick in the spring. Glick is resigning to concentrate on her run for Platte County Prosecutor. There have been three persons file for the one-year term: Jeff Hayes, Dorothy Bridger, and Karen Wagoner.

WEST PLATTE: There are four candidates for a trio of three year terms open. They are Teresa Kincaid Bing, Patrick E. Roberts, Lynn Van Amburg and Donald R. Wilson.
Two candidate are seeking a one-year term: Bill Taylor and Rob Arnold.

NORTH PLATTE: Three candidates have filed for three open spots. They are Jimmy Paden, Debie A. Asher, and Tim Belcher.