Covering Platte County, Missouri Weekly Since 1865
Legal Notices
County Foreclosures
Local News
Between the Lines
by Ivan Foley
The Rambling Moron
by Chris Kamler
The Right Stuff
by James Thomas
Straight from Stigall
by Chris Stigall
Parallax Look
by Brian Kubicki
KC Confidential
by Hearne Christopher
Off the Couch
by Greg Hall
Pleasantly Eccentric
by Aimee Patton
Pig Skin Picks
Letters to the Editor
"Send Your Letter"
Weekly publication dates are Wednesdays
52 Main Street0
P.O. Box 410
Platte City, Missouri 64079

Fax :816-858-2313
by email
Click Here!
by phone



Filings trickling in for
city, school posts

by Valerie Verkamp
Landmark assistant editor

The filing deadline to enter the race for the spring municipal election will come to a close Tuesday, Jan. 20.

Perhaps surprisingly, many candidates to this point have not drawn opposition. The general election will be held Tuesday, April 7.

In Northmoor, there are four available alderman positions and one mayoral position, each for two-year terms. Cheryl Morgan, city clerk, said no one has filed to serve in either capacity and only one incumbent has expressed interest in actually seeking re-election.

In Parkville, four of the eight alderman seats will be up for grabs. Most recent information provided to The Landmark by the city clerk indicates incumbent Diane Driver, challenger Nick Casale, and challenger Tina Welch have filed in ward 1; incumbent Jim Werner has filed in ward 2; and Greg Plumb, incumbent, has filed in ward 4. Two candidates have filed to seek the ward 3 post that was recently vacated by the resignation of Kendall Welch. Those two candidates are Doug Wylie and Robert Lock.

In Riverside, there are three alderman vacancies. Newcomer Al Bowman has filed to represent ward 1. Incumbent Aaron Thatcher of ward 2 is seeking re-election and Newcomer Frank Biondo is running to serve ward 3.

In Camden Point, Alderman Mark Wagoner and Alderman Ernie Clayton have filed for re-election.

In Edgerton, Charlene Cook and Jane Snook Jr have filed to fill the open two-year term for alderman of the west ward. Staley Smith is running to serve the east ward.

In Weston, Kent Stelljes, who currently serves as the alderman of ward 1, has filled to serve as mayor. Patrick Farnan has provided proper notice with the city clerk to serve on ward 1.

In Platte City, the positions currently held by Vicki Atkin of ward 1, Ron Porter of ward 2, and John Huggins of ward 3 are up for election. All three incumbents have filed for re-election. So far, they are running unopposed.

In Houston Lake, two of the four aldermen seats will be up for grabs, as well the mayoral position. Incumbent Phil Otte has filed to represent the north ward and incumbent Rick Cowan of the south ward is also seeking re-election.

Incumbent Michael Hallauer and Chuck Stone are competing to become the next mayor of Houston Lake. Hallauer has served as the mayor of Houston Lake for more than a decade. Stone, who previously served on the Houston Lake Homes Association, announced his candidacy after city officials took measures to close a one-lane bridge deemed by many as the lifeline to their community. Stone pledges to keep the bridge open with proper maintenance.

There are also vacancies on local school boards.
In the Park Hill School District, the seats of board members Matt Pepper and Allison Wurst will soon expire. Matt Pepper and newcomer Jeffrey Kingsley have filed thus far to seek three-year terms on the school board.

There are two seats up for grabs in the Platte County R-3 School District. Those seats are currently held by Lori Bogart and Brandon Gutshall. As of Tuesday, Lori Bogart is the only candidate who has filed for re-election.

The North Platte R-1 School District has two openings, each for three-year terms. Mike Fisher of Edgerton, who was initially elected to the board in 2006 and currently serves as the board's president, is seeking re-election. Tim Nash was elected to the board in 2003 but is not currently filed as a candidate. Newcomer Kerry Brook Hyde has filed.

In the West Platte School District there are two seats up for election. Incumbent John Collier and newcomer Tracy Kalic have filed.