Covering Platte County, Missouri Weekly Since 1865

Legal Notices
The official Platte County Legal Newspaper! Platte
County Foreclosures

Between the Lines
by Ivan Foley


The Rambling Moron
by Chris Kamler

The Right Stuff
by James Thomas

Straight from Stigall
by Chris Stigall

Parallax Look
by Brian Kubicki

KC Confidential
by Hearne Christopher

Off the Couch
by Greg Hall




Weekly publication dates are Wednesdays

252 Main Street0
P.O. Box 410
Platte City, Missouri 64079

Fax :816-858-2313

by email
Click Here!
by phone

Contact Lawmakers
by Congress
Click here to:
Find Federal Officials &
Find State Officials


Local election is a clean
sweep for Republicans

by Ivan Foley
Landmark editor

A clean sweep.

That’s what took place Tuesday in Platte County, as Republicans claimed every contested race on the county ballot.

The result gives Republicans control of every elected position at the Platte County Administration Building when the new officeholders take over.

And Tuesday’s results weren’t really close. Duane Soper defeated Sharon Aring for second district county commissioner by a 60-40% margin, with 13,053 votes to 8,611. Soper will assume the position, held for the past eight years by Jim Plunkett, effective Jan. 1.

“I look forward to serving all the poeple of the second district. I appreciate all the support they gave me. It’s going to be a new adventure,” Soper told The Landmark after the results were in.

For public administrator, Republican Toni Clemens was elected with 55% of the vote to 45% for Democrat Chris Hershey. Clemens is a longtime employee within the public administrator’s office, which is currently headed by Democrat Terry Edwards, who chose not to seek reeelction.

Clemens will take over effective Jan. 1. She finished with 23,402 votes to 19,420 for Hershey.

For assessor, David Cox ousted David Christian 57% to 43%. Cox, a former member of the Park Hill School Board, garnered 24,720 votes to 18,581 for Christian.

Christian had served since being appointed to the post by the governor following the death of Lisa Pope in 2011. The new assessor, by state law, does not assume office until September of 2013.

Voter turnout in Platte County was 70% on Tuesday, nearly dead-on to the 68% that local election officials had predicted to The Landmark last week.

Platte County voters preferred Mitt Romney for president by a margin of 56% to 42% over President Obama, who won re-election.

In the U.S. Senate race, local voters followed the state trend by preferring Democrat Claire McCaskill over Republican Todd Akin, who never overcame his controversial remarks about rape. Local voters liked McCaskill 53% to 40%.

Platte County also followed the state trend by giving preference to incumbent Democrat Gov. Jay Nixon 52-44% over David Spence. Incumbent Lt. Gov. Peter Kinder was preferred by local voters 52-44% over Democrat Susan Montee.

Local voters narrowly preferred Republican Shane Schoeller 49-47% over Democrat Jason Kander for secretary of state and Republican Cole McNary 49-47% over Democrat Clint Zweifel for state treasurer.

For state attorney general, Platte County voters preferred Democrat incumbent Chris Koster 53% to 43% over Republican Ed Martin.

Congressman Sam Graves was reelected with ease. In Platte County, he carried 62% of the vote compared to 35% for Kyle Yarber.

Nick Marshall, Republican, won the state representative district 13 position. He received 62% of the Platte County vote to 38% for Gerry Byrne.

Ron Schieber carried 55% of the Platte County vote for state rep in district 14, compared to 45% for Democrat Eric Pendell.

All local judges on the ballot for retention were given a thumbs up from voters.

Abe Shafer and Lee Hull both received approval from 73% of voters. Thomas Fincham and Dennis Eckold both received 71% approval.

Gary Witt, member of the western district court of appeals, received 72% voter approval in Platte County.

A half cent sales tax on the ballot in the city of Dearborn was defeated by voters, with 165 voting against compared to only 50 in favor.

Complete election results for Platte County can be viewed at http://platte.lazarusgroup.com/current/results.htm