Platte County Landmark

Covering Platte County, Missouri Weekly Since 1865

Legal Notices
The official Platte County Legal Newspaper!

Local News

Between the Lines
by Ivan Foley

Off the Couch
by Greg Hall

Off the Wall
by CK Rairden

Parallax Look
by Brian Kubicki

Cinnamon toast
by Dave Kinnamon

Letters to the Editor
"Send Your Letter"


Post your thoughts on any topic! TalkBack

Weekly publication dates are Thursdays

by email
Click Here!
by phone

Featured Advertisers

Contact Lawmakers
by Congress
Click here to:
Find Federal Officials &
Find State Officials









Candidates lining up for school, city races

by Alan McArthur
Landmark reporter

Candidates are beginning to declare their interest in some local elected positions for the April 7, 2009 election, with the deadline for filing to be on the ballot for all city and school districts coming soon.

The filing deadline is Tuesday, Jan. 20.

The Weston mayoral position will be a contested seat this April. The current mayor Cindy Seward will see a challenge from Greg Hoffman, Ward 1 alderman.

Bob Moore has filed for reelection to his Ward 2 alderman position. Sharon Lyons, Carlen Raymond (C.R.) Carter Jr., and Tim Suarez have filed for election to the Ward 1 seat.

The Platte County R-3 School Board has two seats for election. As of Wednesday morning, Alan Williams, Karen Wagoner, Jeana Houlahan, and Bill Kephart have all filed for election. The seats up for election are currently held by Wagoner and Dick Modin.

Platte City has three positions up for election in April. Ron Stone and Lee Roy Van Lew have filed for election to the Ward 1 seat. Michael Walsh and Ron Porter have each filed for the Ward 2 seat currently held by Andy Stanton. The Ward 3 seat up for election is currently held by Aaron Jung. Jung was appointed to fill a position vacated by Todd Sloan.

As of Wednesday there are three candidates who have filed for two open positions at the West Platte Board of Education. Incumbent Jeff Vandel has filed for reelection along with Patrick Raney and John Collier. The other incumbent Bill Taylor had not filed as of Wednesday morning.

At the North Platte School District, there are three candidates for two open positions. Mike Fisher, Jon McLaughlin, and Tim Nash have filed as of Tuesday. The two seats are currently held by Fisher and Nash.

There are four seats up for election for the Parkville Board of Aldermen. As of Wednesday only the incumbents have filed for election. Deborah Butcher, Ward 1; Gia McFarlane, Ward 2; Marvin Ferguson, Ward 3; and Nan McManus, Ward 4.

Last week the Park Hill School District had six candidates file for three open seats. For the two three-year terms Dennis Chrisman, Denise Schnell, John Thomas, and Lathem Scott filed. For the two-year term Janice Bolin and Dan Coronado filed.



All Rights Reserved. The material on this web site may not be published, broadcast, or redistributed without the permission of The Landmark.