Platte County Landmark

Covering Platte County, Missouri Weekly Since 1865

Legal Notices
The official Platte County Legal Newspaper!

Local News

Between the Lines
by Ivan Foley

Off the Couch
by Greg Hall

Off the Wall
by CK Rairden

Parallax Look
by Brian Kubicki

Cinnamon toast
by Dave Kinnamon

Letters to the Editor
"Send Your Letter"


Post your thoughts on any topic! TalkBack

Weekly publication dates are Thursdays

by email
Click Here!
by phone

Featured Advertisers

Contact Lawmakers
by Congress
Click here to:
Find Federal Officials &
Find State Officials







No parking area extended by city

By Alan McArthur
Landmark reporter

The Platte City Board of Aldermen on Tuesday night approved a request by resdident Gary Brown to restrict parking for 60 feet along Carolina Ridge.

The request by Brown is to cover a portion of Carolina Ridge west of Hale Ave.

“Isn't it just an addition at Mr. Brown's request?” asked Andy Stanton, alderman.

“Yes, it will add 60 feet of additional no parking area,” said Keith Moody, city administrator.

Moody said that most requests for no parking areas are for personal reasons, but that the public works department generally supports the requests.

“The less stuff parked on the street, the less public works has to maneuver around,” said Moody. “We generally encourage folks try to gain support from their neighbors.”

“Was it done on this?” asked Tony Paolillo, alderman.

“I don't think that it was,” said Moody. “We did invite folks who live across the street to tonight's meeting.”

The board then approved the request with a vote of 5-1. Paolillo voted against the measure.
Paolillo said he would rather vote for a restriction because of safety reasons.

“My opinion is I don't want the city to be liable in the future,” said Paolillo. “It should be for safety sake, not if they have a fight with a neighbor.”

The new board members were certified and took the oath of office. The new mayor of Platte City is Frank Offutt, who defeated Dave Brooks in the election on April 8. The newly elected aldermen are Tony Paolillo, Debbie Kirkpatrick, and Marsha Clark.


All Rights Reserved. The material on this web site may not be published, broadcast, or redistributed without the permission of The Landmark.